Introduction from the Interim Headteacher, Stewart Vaughan

I write to introduce myself as the new Headteacher of Priory School.  I am absolutely delighted to have started in post and consider it a privilege to be supporting Priory at this time.

My career has been in Hampshire Schools and I have been a school leader for fifteen years, leading change and improvement in very different schools, most recently as Head of School at Bohunt School, Liphook.

I know that Priory School has many strengths and enormous potential and I am excited by the prospect of leading its next phase of development. The pupils that I have met have been hard working, friendly and very well presented. Thank you for your support in ensuring that they look so presentable and arrive ready to learn.

I feel very privileged to be asked to lead Priory and now, having met staff and pupils, very pleased as well. My first impressions are very positive: pupils are well behaved and keen to learn, teachers are hardworking and professional and are supported by a hard-working and committed support staff. That is not to say everything is perfect and I am making it my number one priority to raise standards and improve examination results. Last year’s results included tremendous successes but were also disappointing for too many pupils. Together with the rest of the staff I am determined to secure excellent results for all of our pupils. Our ‘tracking’ information indicates that a significant improvement is already underway which is hugely encouraging.

The relationships between staff, pupils and parents are fundamental to the success of the school. Working together, we can ensure that pupils enjoy their time at Priory School, make good progress and leave us as well-qualified, mature young people with a positive future to look forward to.  My expectations of the pupils, in terms of their achievement and behaviour, will be very high. I expect all of our pupils to be polite, cooperative and hardworking. Your support in reinforcing these expectations is very much valued.

I look forward to meeting you in the days and weeks to come. If you are a parent of a child in Year 6 or Year 5 then I should like to invite you to our Open Evening on 8 October, 6pm to 8pm when you can see for yourself what a welcoming and exciting school Priory is.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Comments are closed.