Message from James Humphries, Headteacher

It is four and a half years since I took on the Headship of Priory School. During those years we have faced a huge number of challenges together, not least of which were three inspections, numerous changes to qualifications and the ways in which schools are judged as well as increasing financial constraints. I believe that the changes achieved under my leadership, together with our wonderful staff team, have transformed our school in many ways and made a huge difference to our pupils’ lives.

Headship is a privilege, but it also takes its toll. It is an all-consuming job in ways which are difficult for anyone who hasn’t done it to understand. Returning to school after the summer holiday, I realised that I needed a fresh challenge and that the school did too. I told Neil Strowger, Chief Executive of the Bohunt Educational Trust of my intention to resign. Together we considered a number of options and we both agreed that it is in the best interest of the school, and myself, to move forward as swiftly as possible. While this may seem sudden, it has been planned for some time, but I have waited until we had finalised our plans for succession before announcing it. The Interim arrangements are now in place and the recruitment process for a new Head teacher will begin shortly.

From Monday 21 September Mr Stewart Vaughan will be acting Headteacher of Priory School. Stewart has been Head of School at Bohunt Liphook and is a highly experienced senior leader.

I have loved my time at Priory and will remember it very fondly, especially all the pupils I have taught and the staff I have worked with. I feel the school is now in a very strong position to face the future confidently and I wish you all the very best.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Comments are closed.